Ally of Justice Catastor


Machine / Synchro / Effect  DARK / 5
1 Tuner + 1 or more non-Tuner monsters
At the start of the Damage Step, if this card battles a non-DARK monster: Destroy that monster.

2200/1200 
CARD ID: 26593852
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Ally of Justice Catastor

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
2013 Collectible Tins Wave 1 CT10-EN006 Super Rare0.45€1.72€1.70€
Duel Terminal - Preview Wave 2 DTP1-EN031 Duel Terminal Rare Parallel Rare59.98€-,--€53.71€
Duel Terminal 1 DT01-EN035 Duel Terminal Rare Parallel Rare2.90€3.27€3.26€
Hidden Arsenal HA01-EN026 Secret Rare0.59€2.36€2.08€
Turbo Pack: Booster Seven TU07-EN000 Ultimate Rare5.00€10.27€8.85€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artworks of Descending Lost Star, Mind Pollutant and Mist Valley Thunder Lord.
This was the first Ally of Justice monster to be released in the TCG.
Catastor has a prototype version called Ally of Justice Core Destroyer, which has a similar, albeit more restrictive effect.
As with other Ally of Justice Synchro Monsters, an Ally Mind can be seen embedded in the head as an eye. Ironically, it can't be used to Synchro Summon this card unless its Level is decreased, since both cards are Level 5 (in the same fashion as Quickdraw Synchron and Junk Warrior).
However, according to the Duel Terminal storyline, Catastor was created before Ally Mind – the object appearing in the artwork of Catastor might be a prototype or precursor to Ally Mind. This may explain why the two monsters share the same Level.
This card, along with Brionac, Dragon of the Ice Barrier and Mist Wurm were all short printed in Hidden Arsenal, so only a maximum of 1 to 2 of each would have been found per-36-packs booster box, making them exceedingly rare.
Catastor could be a play on the word catastrophe considering its powerful destruction effect.
In the artwork for Mist Valley Thunder Lord, it is carrying the head of Catastor, implying that it defeated Catastor. In the context of the actual card game, this would be impossible as Thunder Lord cannot beat Catastor normally due the effect of Catastor that automatically destroys any non-DARK monster.
This defeat of Catastor appears in the artwork of Mind Polutant, where Fabled Raven was controlling Thunder Lord.
This monster has an lswarm counterpart, Evilswarm Golem.
This card was illegal to play in TCG tournaments following its initial North American release in Duel Terminal - Preview Wave 2. This was because the Duel Terminal Preview sets were made as a special release for Comic Con in August 2009, and was only available in extremely limited quantities. Catastor wasn't officially released until Hidden Arsenal came out in November of the same year, after which it was legal to use.

Rulings

TCG Rulings



The effect {{sic">or “
Ally of Justice Catastor” activates at the very start of the Damage Step before face-down monsters are flipped face-up.: Hidden Arsenal – Card Rulings (Version 1.0)

If “Ally of Justice Catastor” or the opponent’s monster is face-down at the start of the Damage Step, the effect of “Ally of Justice Catastor” will not apply.

If “Ally of Justice Catastor” battles a monster that can be treated as both DARK and another Attribute, such as “Dark Simorgh,” the effect of “Ally of Justice Catastor” will activate and destroy the monster.

If “Ally of Justice Catastor” battles a monster like “D.D. Warrior” the monster will be destroyed by the effect of “Ally of Justice Catastor’s” effect without damage calculation. The effect of “D.D. Warrior” that would activate after damage calculation will not activate.

If “Ally of Justice Catastor” battles “Neo-Spacian Grand Mole,” the mandatory effect of Catastor will activate first and become Chain Link 1 and the effect of “Neo-Spacian Grand Mole” will be Chained to it.

If the monster that “Ally of Justice Catastor” is battling survives the effect of Catastor because of “Heavy Mech Support Platform” or “Spirit of the Six Samurai,” damage calculation will be carried out normally.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Dark Simorgh: If "Ally of Justice Catastor" battles "Dark Simorgh" it will destroy "Dark Simorgh" with its effect because "Dark Simorgh's" Attribute is also treated as WIND.

Gundari: If "Ally of Justice Catastor" battles "Gundari" both of their effects activate and form a Chain. If "Ally of Justice Catastor" attacks "Gundari," both monsters are returned to the hand or Extra Deck. If "Gundari" attacks "Ally of Justice Catastor," then "Gundari" is destroyed and "Ally of Justice Catastor" returns to the Extra Deck

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
The effects of "
Ally of Justice Catastor" and "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" activate before a monster is flipped face-up on the damage step.: AoJ Catastor vs NS Grand Mole

If "Ally of Justice Catastor" or "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" is being attacked while face-down, its effect will miss the timing.

If "Ally of Justice Catastor" battles with "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" and both monsters are face-up, each effect activates at the same time. "Ally of Justice Catastor" is a mandatory effect, so it will be placed on the Chain first. "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" is an optional effect, and it will be placed on the Chain second.
When the Chain resolves, the effect of "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" will return "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" to its owner's hand and "Ally of Justice Catastor" to its owner's Extra Deck. When "Ally of Justice Catastor" resolves, "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" is no longer on the Field so it will not be destroyed.



OCG Rulings


On Activating

Ally of Justice Catastor"s effect will activate when it battles a monster with multiple Attributes, such as "Dark Simorgh" or "Light and Darkness Dragon" - assuming that "Light and Darkness Dragon" doesn't negate the effect.: When "Ally of Justice Catastor" battles, can it destroy a Monster with multiple Attributes including DARK?

"Ally of Justice Catastor"s effect activates at the beginning of the Damage Step, before the monster is flipped face-up. If the monster is face-down, "Ally of Justice Catastor"s effect will not activate.: Can a face-down monster be destroyed by "Ally of Justice Catastor"?

If a monster attacks a face-down "Ally of Justice Catastor", the effect will not activate and the attacking monster will not be destroyed (regardless of its Attribute).

On Destroying the Monster Before Damage Calculation

When battling with "Ally of Justice Catastor", "D.D. Warrior"s effect will not activate, since he is destroyed before Damage Calculation (and "D.D. Warrior"s effect activates after Damage Calculation).: When "Ally of Justice Catastor" and "D.D. Warrior" battle, can "D.D. Warrior" remove from play cards?

If "Ally of Justice Catastor" battles with a monster equipped with a card like "Heavy Mech Support Platform" or "Spirit of the Six Samurai", then "Heavy Mech Support Platform" is destroyed, but afterwards you still perform Damage Calculation because the equipped monster is still on the field.: Do you still perform Damage Calculation if the opponent's monster cannot be destroyed by the effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor"?

On SEGOC

If "Ally of Justice Catastor" battles with "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole", the mandatory effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor" activates as Chain Link 1, and the optional effect of "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" can activate as Chain Link 2. "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" will resolve first and return itself to the Hand and "Ally of Justice Catastor" to the Extra Deck. Then, the effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor" will resolve without effect.: When "Ally of Justice Catastor" and "Neo-Spacian Grand Mole" battle, how do the effects resolve?

If "Gundari" and "Ally of Justice Catastor" battle, then both effects activate at the beginning of the Damage Step, so the two effects form a Chain and you resolve backwards.: If "Gundari" and "Ally of Justice Catastor" battle, then what happens?
If "Gundari" attacks a face-up "Ally of Justice Catastor", then the effect of "Gundari" activates as Chain Link 1 and the effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor" activates as Chain Link 2. Resolving backwards, "Gundari" is destroyed, and then "Ally of Justice Catastor" is returned to the Extra Deck.
If "Ally of Justice Catastor" attacks a face-up "Gundari", then the effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor" activates as Chain Link 1 and the effect of "Gundari" activates as Chain Link 2. Resolving backwards, "Gundari" is returned to the hand and "Ally of Justice Catastor" is returned to the Extra Deck. Then, "Gundari" is no longer face-up on the field, so the effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor" is not applied.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Ally of Justice Unlimiter: When "Rush Recklessly" and "Ally of Justice Unlimiter" both affect "Ally of Justice Catastor",: When the effects of "Ally of Justice Unlimiter" and "Rush Recklessly" are applied, how does the monster's ATK change?
If "Rush Recklessly" is activated first and then the effect of "Ally of Justice Unlimiter" is activated, then the ATK of "Ally of Justice Catastor" will be 4400 - its Original ATK, doubled.
If the effect of "Ally of Justice Unlimiter" is activated first and then "Rush Recklessly" is activated, then the ATK of "Ally of Justice Catastor" will be 5100.

Ally of Justice Unlimiter:If "Ally of Justice Catastor" is equipped with "Megamorph" and has its ATK halved to 1100, when the effect of "Ally of Justice Unlimiter" is applied, then "Ally of Justice Catastor" will have 4400 ATK. If "Ally of Justice Catastor" has its ATK doubled to 4400, then the effect of "Ally of Justice Unlimiter" will not change the ATK of "Ally of Justice Catastor".: When the effect of "Ally of Justice Unlimiter" targets a monster which has been equipped with "Megamorph", what does its ATK become?

Ally of Justice Unlimiter:If "Ally of Justice Catastor" is affected by "Ally of Justice Unlimiter" and then is equipped with "Megamorph", then "Ally of Justice Catastor" will have 1100 ATK or 4400 ATK, as determined by "Megamorph".

Gladiator Beast: If "Gladiator Beast Alexander" attacks "Krebons" or "Ally of Justice Catastor" and its effect activates, then if "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" negates the activation of the effect destroys it, then damage calculation is not performed. Thus, at the end of the Battle Phase you cannot activate the effect of "Gladiator Beast Alexander" which Special Summons another "Gladiator Beast" monster from the Deck.: Can the effect of a monster like "Gladiator Beast Alexander" be activated if the opponent's battling monster is destroyed when "Gladiator Beast War Chariot" is activated during the Damage Step?

Stardust Dragon: The effect of "Stardust Dragon" which negates the activation of an effect which destroys can also be activated during the Damage Step.: Can the effect of "Stardust Dragon" negate the effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor"?
Example: If the effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor" activates during the Damage Step, then the effect of "Stardust Dragon" may be Chained to negate the activation of "Ally of Justice Catastor"s effect and destroy it: Can you use the effect of "Stardust Dragon" to negate the effect of "Ally of Justice Catastor" and destroy it?, even if that "Stardust Dragon" is the monster battling "Ally of Justice Catastor".