A Hero Emerges


  Normal / Trap
When an opponent's monster declares an attack: Your opponent chooses 1 random card from your hand, then if it is a monster that can be Special Summoned, Special Summon it. Otherwise, send it to the GY. 
CARD ID: 21597117
STATUS TCG: Unlimited
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: A Hero Emerges

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN179 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN179 Mosaic Rare-,--€-,--€-,--€
Dark Revelation Volume 2 DR2-EN105 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Duel Terminal 2 DT02-EN048 Duel Terminal Normal Parallel -,--€-,--€-,--€
Duelist Pack: Jaden Yuki DP1-EN025 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Invasion of Chaos IOC-104 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Invasion of Chaos IOC-EN104 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€
Super Starter: Space-Time Showdown YS14-EN036 Common-,--€-,--€-,--€

Card Trivia

 Zombyra the Dark appears in this card's artwork. This is fitting, as both of Zombyras effects reflect heroic tropes and the said monster is based on Zombire.
This card's artwork is taken from , specifically a panel from the Zombire comic book.
Appropriate to Joey's Deck motif, the card's effect requires luck to attain the desired result. Though this card was not used by Joey,
Zombyra was.
The lore of this card's effect in both its release within
Dark Revelation Volume 2 and the International release of Invasion of Chaos incorrectly states that 'you', rather than 'your opponent', chooses the card randomly.
Each time this card was activated in the anime, this card's effect succeeded in Special Summoning a monster.
Although this card has the word
Hero in its name, it has no affiliation with the HERO archetype.
This is because this card was released a long time before the
HERO monsters were released.
Ironically though, Jaden Yuki, who runs an
Elemental HERO Deck, has used this card in the anime during some of his Duels, namely to Special Summon Elemental HEROes" in a pinch.

Rulings

In the "TCG", your opponent still chooses a card in your hand even if you cannot Special Summon (such as due to "Vanity's Emptiness").
In the "OCG", your opponent does not choose a card in this case.



OCG Rulings



The effect does not target.: A Hero Emerges

If you have no cards in your hand, or if you have no Monster Cards in your hand, "A Hero Emerges" cannot be activated.

If the opponent's randomly chosen monster is "Tsukuyomi", a Special Summon Monster, etc., if it was a monster that cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of "A Hero Emerges", that monster is sent to the Graveyard without being Special Summoned.

If you only have LIGHT monsters in your Monster Zones while the effect of "Gozen Match" is applying, providing you have a LIGHT monster in your hand that can be Special Summoned by the effect of "A Hero Emerges", you can activate "A Hero Emerges". (For example, in this case, if you only have DARK monsters in your hand, you cannot activate "A Hero Emerges".) Furthermore, while "Each player can only control 1 Attribute of monster. Send all other face-up monsters they control to the Graveyard" is applying, if the opponent chose a LIGHT monster it is Special Summoned normally, but if the opponent chose a non-LIGHT monster or a Spell/Trap Card, the chosen card is sent to the Graveyard.: While the effect of "Gozen Match" is applying, can you activate "A Hero Emerges"?

If "Vanity's Emptiness" is activated in Chain to the activation of "A Hero Emerges: If "Vanity's Emptiness" is activated in Chain to the activation of "A Hero Emerges", how does it resolve?


Previously Official Rulings


You can
Special Summon a high-level monster, like "Dark Magician", with "A Hero Emerges". But if your opponent selects a Special Summon-only monster like "Dark Necrofear", or a Spirit Monster, it is sent to the Graveyard.

When "Guardian Elma" is selected for "A Hero Emerges", and you have "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" on your side of the field, you can Special Summon her, but if you don't have it, then she is sent to the Graveyard.

You can activate "A Hero Emerges" even if you have only 1 card in your hand.