Thunder King Rai-Oh


Thunder / Effect  LIGHT / 4
Neither player can add cards from their Deck to their hand except by drawing them. During either player's turn, when your opponent would Special Summon exactly 1 monster: You can send this face-up card to the Graveyard; negate the Special Summon, and if you do, destroy it.
1900/800 


STATUS TCG: Semi-Limited

CARD ID: 71564252
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Thunder King Rai-Oh
ZOBACZ WPIS NA WIKI

SETY TCG

Yu-Gi-Oh Prices Yu-Gi-Oh Cardmarket
TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgLowAvgTrend
Gold Series 3 GLD3-EN020 Gold Rare 3.32$ 4.02$0.50€2.57€1.67€
Legendary Collection 2: The Duel Academy Years Mega Pack LCGX-EN203 Common 1.67$ 2.86$0.70€1.85€1.20€
Premium Gold PGLD-EN075 Gold Rare 2.90$ 3.71$0.60€2.33€1.32€
Ra Yellow Mega Pack RYMP-EN074 Common 2.09$ 2.53$0.10€1.94€0.78€
Turbo Pack: Booster Eight TU08-EN000 Ultimate Rare 23.00$ 26.09$19.99€31.59€22.89€
Yu-Gi-Oh! GX Volume 2 promotional card YG02-EN001 Secret Rare 5.68$ 8.56$---

Trivia


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Dimension Fortress Weapon: If a card needs to be sent from the Deck to the Graveyard because of a card combination that renders the usual resolution impossible, that card is still sent to the Graveyard even if “Dimension Fortress Weapon” is on the field.
Example #1: If “Dimension Fortress Weapon” is on the field and you activate “Conscription”, and pick up a monster that could be Normal Summoned, but your Monster Card Zones are full, the monster is sent to the Graveyard.
Example #2: The same is true for extra monsters from “Enchanting Fitting Room” that cannot be Summoned due to lack of available Monster Card Zones.
Example #3: “Crystal Seer” is flipped face-up while “Thunder King Rai-Oh” is on the field.

Machina Fortress: You can negate this Summon with “Thunder King Rai-Oh” or “Solemn Judgment.”

Morphtronic Forcefield: You cannot activate “Morphtronic Forcefield” if “Thunder King Rai-Oh” is on the field. If an effect is chained to “Morphtronic Forcefield” that Summons “Thunder King Rai-Oh”, you will not be able to add a “Morphtronic” monster to your hand, but “Morphtronic Forcefield” will still negate the Spell or Trap Card that it was chained to.

Power Tool Dragon: You cannot activate “Power Tool Dragon’s” effect while “Thunder King Rai-Oh” is active. If you activate the effect, and an effect is chained which places “Thunder King Rai-Oh” on the field, proceed with “Power Tool Dragon’s” effect but the 1 picked card goes to the Graveyard instead of your hand.


OCG Rulings


On Negating Summons (In General)

Sending this card to the Graveyard is a cost to activate the effect which negates Special Summons. This effect does not target.: Effect Monster > Thunder King Rai-Oh

The effects of "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Black Horn of Heaven", "Solemn Judgment", and similar cards can only be activated when a monster Special Summons itself without starting a Chain, such as when a Special Summon monster Special Summons itself.: Please explain what Special Summons can and cannot be negated by the effects of "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Solemn Judgment", and so on.
Example: The effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" can negate the Special Summon of "Cyber Dragon", "Dark Armed Dragon", and "Endymion, the Master Magician".
Example: The effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" can negate a Synchro Summon" and the Special Summon of "Gladiator Beast Gyzarus" from the Extra Deck.

The effects of "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Black Horn of Heaven", "Solemn Judgment", and similar cards cannot negate a Special Summon by another card effect.: Please explain what Special Summons can and cannot be negated by the effects of "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Solemn Judgment", and so on.
Example: Cards like "Thunder King Rai-Oh" cannot negate the Special Summon by the effects of "Monster Reborn" or "Polymerization". However, "Solemn Judgment" can also negate the activation of a Spell/Trap Card, so it can negate the activation of "Monster Reborn" or "Polymerization" itself.

The effects of "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Black Horn of Heaven", "Solemn Judgment", and similar cards cannot negate a Special Summon which occurs during the resolution of an effect which "activates".: Please explain what Special Summons can and cannot be negated by the effects of "Thunder King Rai-Oh", "Solemn Judgment", and so on.
Example: When Battle Damage is inflicted, the effect of "Gorz the Emissary of Darkness" which Special Summons it "activates". Thus, you cannot negate this with the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh".
Example: Monsters in the hand or Graveyard are removed from play to "activate" the effects which Special Summon "Dark Simorgh". Thus, you cannot negate this with the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh".

"Thunder King Rai-Oh" and similar cards can negate a Synchro Summon. The card is activated after sending the Synchro Material Monsters to the Graveyard, but before the Synchro Summon is successful.: Can the effects of cards negate Synchro Summons?

"Thunder King Rai-Oh" negates Special Summons the same way that "Solemn Judgment", "Horn of Heaven", and "Black Horn of Heaven" negate Special Summons. You can only use the effect against a Special Summon which does not use a Chain Link. You cannot use the effect when a monster is Special Summoned during the resolution of another card.: What kind of Special Summons can be negated with the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh"?

"Thunder King Rai-Oh"s effect activates after the Summon has been declared, but before the Summon is successful.

On Negating the Summon of Specific Cards

Backup Warrior: If the Special Summon of "Backup Warrior" is negated by an effect like that of "Solemn Judgment" or "Thunder King Rai-Oh", then you still cannot Synchro Summon during the same turn. If the Synchro Summon of a Synchro Monster is negated, then you still cannot Special Summon "Backup Warrior" during the same turn.: If "Solemn Judgment" negates the Special Summon of "Backup Warrior", then can you Synchro Summon during the same turn?

Endymion, the Master Magician: If "Endymion, the Master Magician" Special Summons itself from the hand or Graveyard by removing six Spell Counters from "Magical Citadel of Endymion", then "Thunder King Rai-Oh"/"Black Horn of Heaven"/etc can negate the Special Summon of and destroy "Endymion, the Master Magician".: Can the Special Summon of "Endymion, the Master Magician" be negated by "Thunder King Rai-Oh" or "Solemn Judgment"?

Lava Golem: When your opponent Special Summons "Lava Golem" to your field, you can activate "Thunder King Rai-Oh"s effect to negate the Special Summon, as long as "Lava Golem" didn't Tribute "Thunder King Rai-Oh".: When you Special Summon "Lava Golem", can your opponent activate the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh"?

Machina Fortress: Effects like "Solemn Judgment" and the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" may be activated if "Machina Fortress" is Special Summoning itself by its effect, to negate the Special Summon of "Machina Fortress".: Can effects like "Solemn Judgment" and "Thunder King Rai-Oh" negate the Special Summon of "Machina Fortress"?

On Not Adding Cards to Hands

When "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, you cannot activate "Terraforming", "Reinforcement of the Army", etc.: Can "Reinforcement of the Army" be activated when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field?

While "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, you can still remove from play cards from your deck and you can still add cards to your hand which have been removed from play, so you can still activate "Gold Sarcophagus"/"Different Dimension Capsule"/etc, and afterwards the card will be added to your hand.: Can you activate "Gold Sarcophagus" when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field?

If the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" which prevents cards from being added to the hand from the Deck except by drawing is active, then players may still add cards to their hands by drawing them from the Deck. Thus, "Pot of Avarice" may still be activated while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, and the player will still draw cards from his Deck.: If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, then can cards like "Pot of Avarice" which draw still be activated?

Versus Specific Cards

Conscription: "Conscription" can be activated while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field. If the card would be added to the Hand, then it is instead sent to the Graveyard.: Because you do not know if the card would be added to the Hand, can "Conscription" be activated while the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is active?

Crystal Seer: When resolving the effect of "Crystal Seer", if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, then the card to be added to the hand is instead sent to the Graveyard. The other card is returned to the bottom of the deck normally.: What happens when the effect of "Crystal Seer" activates while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field?

Cyber Jar: When resolving the effects of "Magical Merchant" and "Cyber Jar", if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, you send to the Graveyard the card(s) which would be added to your hand.: What happens when the effects of "Magical Merchant" or "Cyber Jar" activate while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field?

Elemental HERO Stratos: If "Elemental HERO Stratos" is Summoned while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, then you cannot choose to activate the effect which adds a "HERO" monster from your deck to your hand. However, you can choose to activate the effect which destroys Spell/Trap cards.: When "Elemental HERO Stratos" is Normal/Special Summoned while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, can the effect be activated?

Emblem of Dragon Destroyer: You can activate "Emblem of Dragon Destroyer", etc, while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field. When resolving the effect, if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, then you can only add a "Buster Blader" from your Graveyard to your hand.: While the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is active, can you activate "Emblem of Dragon Destroyer" or other cards which can add cards to the Hand from both the Deck and from other places?

Magical Merchant: "See above; listed under "Cyber Jar"."

Painful Choice: You cannot activate "Painful Choice" when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field. If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field when "Painful Choice" resolves, the selected card is sent to the Graveyard.: Can "Painful Choice" be activated when the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is active? How would it resolve?

Pot of Duality: If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, then you cannot activate "Pot of Duality". Also, if an effect is Chained to "Pot of Duality" and Special Summons "Thunder King Rai-Oh", then when resolving "Pot of Duality" you still reveal the top three cards of your Deck. You select one card to be added to your hand and send it to the Graveyard instead, and shuffle the remaining two cards into your Deck.: Can you activate "Pot of Duality" if "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field?

Power Tool Dragon: The effect of "Power Tool Dragon" cannot be activated if the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is preventing cards from being added from the Deck to the hand. If an effect is chained to the effect of "Power Tool Dragon" so that "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field when resolving the effect of "Power Tool Dragon", then the Equip Spell Card which is randomly selected is instead sent to the Graveyard.: Can the effect of "Power Tool Dragon" which adds an Equip Spell Card to the hand be activated while the effect of "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is active?

Sangan: When "Sangan" is sent to the Graveyard while "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field, "Sangan"s effect activates normally and starts a chain. However, the effect of "Sangan" resolves without effect.: What happens when the effect of "Sangan" activates when "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is face-up on the field?

Wattcobra: If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field, then when "Wattcobra" inflicts battle damage by attacking directly its effect activates mandatorily. However, the effect which adds a "Watt" monster to your hand is not applied.: If "Thunder King Rai-Oh" is on the field when the effect of "Wattcobra" activates, then can you add to your hand?




pt:Regras de Card:Thunder King Rai-Oh