Soul Exchange


  Normal / Spell
Target 1 monster your opponent controls; this turn, if you Tribute a monster, you must Tribute that monster, as if you controlled it. You cannot conduct your Battle Phase the turn you activate this card. 

CARD ID: 68005187
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com

TCG SETS

TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Astral Pack Five AP05-EN021 Common0.02€0.07€0.06€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN041 Rare0.02€0.20€0.11€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN041 Starfoil Rare0.02€0.28€0.18€
Champion Pack: Game Four CP04-EN012 Common0.10€-,--€0.12€
Duel Terminal - Preview Wave 1 DTP1-EN010 Duel Terminal Normal Parallel Rare99.99€-,--€0.02€
Duel Terminal - Preview Wave 2 DTP1-EN010 Duel Terminal Normal Parallel Rare99.99€-,--€0.02€
Duel Terminal 1 DT01-EN036 Duel Terminal Normal Parallel Rare1.70€-,--€1.68€
Emperor of Darkness Structure Deck SR01-EN030 Common0.02€0.08€0.06€
Gold Series 4: Pyramids Edition GLD4-EN035 Common0.02€-,--€0.07€
Legendary Collection Kaiba Mega Pack LCKC-EN038 Ultra Rare0.02€0.12€0.19€
Rise of the Dragon Lords Structure Deck SDRL-EN021 Common0.02€0.11€0.05€
Saga of Blue-Eyes White Dragon Structure Deck SDBE-EN030 Common0.02€0.21€0.08€
Starter Deck: Kaiba Evolution SKE-033 Common0.02€0.09€0.09€
Starter Deck: Kaiba Reloaded YSKR-EN029 Common0.02€0.04€0.08€
Starter Deck: Yugi SDY-041 Super Rare0.02€0.10€0.14€
Starter Deck: Yugi SDY-E037 Super Rare0.02€0.10€0.14€
Tournament Pack 7 TP7-EN010 Common0.02€0.08€0.13€

Card Trivia

 Synchro Material is the Synchro Summon version of this card.

Rulings


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Amazoness Archer: If you use "Soul Exchange", you can Tribute your opponent’s monster to activate this effect.

Assault Mode Activate: Tributing a Synchro Monster is a cost. You can Tribute your opponent’s Synchro Monster using “Soul Exchange”.

Makiu, the Magical Mist: You can activate “Makiu, the Magical Mist” and “Soul Exchange” during the same turn. Likewise, you can activate more than 1 copy of “Makiu, the Magical Mist” and/or “Soul Exchange” during the same turn. You can also activate “Makiu, the Magical Mist” if your Battle Phase will be skipped because of “Great Long Nose”, etc.


OCG Rulings


On Tributing

This card targets 1 monster your opponent controls.: Soul Exchange: How do you resolve "Soul Exchange"?

During the turn this card is activated, if you would Tribute a monster, you must Tribute the targeted monster.

When you activate "Soul Exchange", you do not choose for what the monster will be Tributed. If you activate "Soul Exchange" with the intention of performing a Tribute Summon, and your opponent chains "Lightforce Sword" to banish the monster, then "Soul Exchange" still resolves properly. In this case, you can still Tribute the opponent's monster the next time you would Tribute a monster.: If an effect is chained to "Soul Exchange" so that a Tribute Summon is impossible, is the effect of "Soul Exchange" negated?

You can Tribute the monster targeted by "Soul Exchange" for a Spell/Trap Card, the effect of an Effect Monster and a Tribute Summon.: In what cases can you Tribute the monster selected by "Soul Exchange"?

You do not have to Tribute a monster immediately after "Soul Exchange" resolves. You can Tribute the monster targeted by "Soul Exchange" instead of your own monster at any time during the turn in which "Soul Exchange" is activated. You can activate "Soul Exchange", perform another action, and then Tribute the monster targeted by "Soul Exchange".: After activating "Soul Exchange", must your next action be the Tribute of the monster?: By using 2 copies of "Soul Exchange", can you Tribute Summon a Level 7 or higher monster?

You can activate "Soul Exchange" even if you control no monsters.: Can you activate "Soul Exchange" when there are no monsters on your Field?

You can activate 2 copies of "Soul Exchange" and Tribute 2 monsters for the Tribute Summon of a Level 7 or higher monster.

When you target a face-down monster with "Soul Exchange", you do not know its ATK. Therefore, you cannot Tribute it to activate "Crush Card Virus", "Deck Devastation Virus" or "Eradicator Epidemic Virus".: When activating "Crush Card Virus", can you Tribute a face-down monster targeted by "Soul Exchange"?

When you target a face-down monster with "Soul Exchange", you do not know its Level. Therefore, you cannot Tribute it to perform a Ritual Summon.: When Ritual Summoning, can you Tribute an opponent's face-down monster targeted by "Soul Exchange"?

Fusion Material Monsters are sent to the Graveyard when you perform a Fusion Summon. They are not Tributed. Therefore, you cannot use a monster targeted by "Soul Exchange" as a Fusion Material Monster.: Can you use your opponent's monster targeted by "Soul Exchange" as a Fusion Material Monster?

If you are activating a card or effect that requires Tributing, then "Soul Exchange" forces you to Tribute the targeted monster if the targeted monster is still face-up on the field.: After activating "Soul Exchange", can you banish a monster like "Djinn Releaser of Rituals"?

You can Tribute Summon "Slifer the Sky Dragon" or "The Wicked Dreadroot" by Tributing an opponent's monster affected with "Soul Exchange".: Can you Tribute Summon "Slifer the Sky Dragon" by Tributing an opponent's monster affected with "Soul Exchange"?

Versus Specific Cards

Assault Mode Activate: With the effect of "Soul Exchange", you can Tribute your opponent's Synchro Monster as a cost to activate "Assault Mode Activate".: Can "Assault Mode" be activated by Tributing your opponent's monster targeted by "Soul Exchange"?

Axe of Despair: When "Axe of Despair" is sent from the field to the Graveyard, you can Tribute an opponent's monster under the effect of "Soul Exchange" to activate the effect of "Axe of Despair". You can only do this as long as "Soul Exchange" was previously activated.: When activating the effect of "Axe of Despair", can "Soul Exchange" be activated?

Djinn of Rituals: If "Djinn Releaser of Rituals" is in your Graveyard and you can Ritual Summon a Ritual Monster using only the monster targeted by "Soul Exchange", then you cannot banish "Djinn Releaser of Rituals" from your Graveyard when you are Ritual Summoning. Also, when Ritual Summoning you can both Tribute the opponent's monster on the field and banish a monster like "Djinn Releaser of Rituals" from your Graveyard, as long as the opponent's monster has a lower Level than the Ritual Monster.

Evil HERO Malicious Edge: If your opponent only controls 1 monster affected by "Soul Exchange", you can Tribute that monster to Tribute Summon "Evil Hero Malicious Edge".: By Tributing 1 monster on your opponent's field, can "Evil Hero Malicious Edge" be Tribute Summoned?

On Skipping the Battle Phase

When the activation of "Soul Exchange" is negated by "Magic Jammer", you can conduct your Battle Phase.

When the effect of "Soul Exchange" is negated by "Imperial Order", you cannot conduct your Battle Phase.

If "Mask of Restrict" is chained to "Soul Exchange", you cannot Tribute the monster, but you still cannot conduct your Battle Phase.: When "Mask of Restrict" is Chained to "Soul Exchange", is it negated?

Miscellaneous

Inzektor Hopper: The effect of an equipped "Inzektor Hopper" cannot be activated during Main Phase 2 or during the first turn of the first player. Also, it cannot be activated during a turn in which you cannot conduct your Battle Phase by having activated Soul Exchange.: Can the effect of an equipped "Inzektor Hopper" be activated during Main Phase 2, or during turn 1 of the first player?

The Tyrant Neptune: If you Tribute a monster owned by your opponent for the Tribute Summon of "The Tyrant Neptune" using the effect of "Soul Exchange", then the effect of "The Tyrant Neptune" can target that monster in your opponent's Graveyard to have "The Tyrant Neptune

Previously Official Rulings


Soul Exchange” targets. Select the target at activation.

The effect of "Soul Exchange" doesn't immediately Tribute the targeted monster.""

“Soul Exchange” allows you to Tribute the targeted monster as though it was yours for the rest of the turn.

You can Tribute the targeted monster for any card that requires a Tribute, or for a Tribute Summon. So you could Tribute it for the effect of “Cannon Soldier”, a Ritual Summon, or for the cost of “Monster Gate”.

“Soul Exchange” does NOT give you control of your opponent’s monster, so you can use “Soul Exchange” combined with your “Cannon Soldier’s” effect even if you already have 5 monsters in your Monster Card Zone.

You can activate 2 “Soul Exchanges” and target 2 different monsters. You could Tribute them both for the Tribute Summon of a Level 7 or higher monster.

You cannot activate "Soul Exchange" during your Main Phase 2 because you must skip your Battle Phase.

You can target a face-down monster, but you cannot Tribute it for a Ritual Summon or for “Metamorphosis” because you do not know its Level.

You cannot use “Soul Exchange” for “Polymerization” because “Polymerization” does not use Tribute.

If the activation of your "Soul Exchange" is negated (by "Solemn Judgment", etc.), you may conduct your Battle Phase. If only the effect of "Soul Exchange" is negated (by "Imperial Order", etc.), you may not conduct your Battle Phase.

You cannot Tribute the monster targeted by "Soul Exchange" to pay the cost to activate the effect of your "Exiled Force", because "Exiled Force" must Tribute itself.

Even if you have 5 monsters on your side of the field, you can use this card to Tribute monster for "Cannon Soldier" or "Catapult Turtle's" effect. However, you cannot use this card for a Tribute Summon if you have 5 monsters on your side of the field. Also remember that if you use this card, you must skip your battle phase and you cannot activate it during Main Phase 2.""

You can use "Soul Exchange" to get "Gate Guardian" (if your opponent has one of the three pieces).""

A Fusion Material Monster is NOT a Tribute Monster. You cannot use "Soul Exchange" to get Fusion Cards (for example, if your opponent has "Summoned Skull", and you have "Red Eyes Black Dragon" in your hand/field, you cannot use the "Polymerization" and "Soul Exchange" to Summon "Black Skull Dragon" from your fusion deck).""

Mentions in Other Rulings

Bubble Shuffle:" You can target the opponent's "Elemental Hero Bubbleman" with "Soul Exchange" and Tribute it for "Bubble Shuffle".

Burst Stream of Destruction:" You can activate "Burst Stream of Destruction" when you cannot have a Battle Phase because of"Soul Exchange"

Cosmic Horror Gangi'el:" If you activate "Soul Exchange" and target 1 of your opponent's monsters, "Cosmic Horror Gangi'el" cannot be Tribute Summoned by Tributing just that 1 monster. That monster is still on your opponent's side of the field, so it does not satisfy the requirement.

Destiny HERO - Doom Lord"Destiny Hero - Doom Lord's" effect even if your Battle Phase is going to be skipped because of a card effect like "Soul Exchange".

Diabolos, King of the Abyss:" If this card is targeted by "Soul Exchange", it can be Tributed for a Tribute Summon. It is still considered to be Tributed for the Summon, not by the effect of "Soul Exchange".

Diffusion Wave-Motion:" You cannot activate "Diffusion Wave-Motion"if you cannot conduct your Battle Phase this turnyou activated "Soul Exchange"

Ectoplasmer:" You can activate "Soul Exchange" during your Main Phase and use its effect to Tribute your opponent's monster for "Ectoplasmer" during the End Phase.

Evil HERO Malicious Edge: If your opponent controls only 1 monster and you activate "Soul Exchange", selecting that 1 monster as the target, after resolving "Soul Exchange" you can Tribute that 1 monster to Tribute Summon"Evil Hero Malicious Edge" (You would not need to Tribute an additional monster).

Last Turn:" If the Battle Phase is skipped because of"Soul Exchange", resolve the effects of "Last Turn" as much as possible (including victory check, quite possibly resulting in a DRAW).

Magical Dimension:" You can Tribute a monster that was targeted by "Soul Exchange"

Metamorphosis:" If you activated "Soul Exchange" targeting your opponent's monster, if the monster is face-down, you cannot Tribute it as a cost for "Metamorphosis".

Mystik Wok:" You can Tribute face-down monsters, or your opponent's monster using "Soul Exchange".

Precious Cards from Beyond:" If you Tribute Summon or Set with 2 monsters, and 1 of them was your opponent's monster that you used with"Soul Exchange", you can activate "Precious Cards from Beyond".

Sangan / Thestalos the Firestorm Monarch: When you Tribute a monster with a mandatory Trigger Effect that activates as a result of the monster being Tributed, the Tributed monster's effect is placed first on the Chain. So, if you Tribute your opponent's "Sangan" (due to "Soul Exchange") for the Tribute Summon of "Thestalos the Firestorm Monarch", "Sangan" is placed first onto the Chain because its Trigger Effect activated when it was Tributed, followed by "Thestalos the Firestorm Monarch".: Sangan vs. Soul Exchange vs. Thestalos: soul exchange; gravekeeper's servant w/ Macro Cosmos/Dimensional Fissure""

Serial Spell:"You can activate "Serial Spell" to copy the effect of a Normal Spell Card, even if it is"Soul Exchange" and copying the effect serves no real purpose.

Silent Swordsman LV3:" "Silent Swordsman LV3" will negate the effects of your opponent's Spell Cards that target it, whether that Spell Card targets just "Silent Swordsman LV3" (such as "Soul Exchange") or multiple monsters ("Different Dimension Gate").

Skull Knight 2:" if you activate "Soul Exchange" to Tribute a "Skull Knight #2" on your opponent's side of the field, neither player can activate its effect.

Spirit Reaper:" Vs. "Soul Exchange": Since "Soul Exchange" targets, "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed by its own effect before you can Tribute it.

Tribute Doll:" You can combine "Soul Exchange" with "Tribute Doll" to Tribute your opponent's monster as the cost of "Tribute Doll".

Vampire Lord:" When "Vampire Lord" is Tributed (including by your opponent with "Soul Exchange"), or when he is "sent to the Graveyard", he will not be Special Summoned by his own effect because he was not "destroyed".

Volcanic Slicer: Even if you skipped the Battle Phase with another card's effect (like "Soul Exchange") you can still activate "Volcanic Slicer's" effect.: Volcanic Slicer question""