Peten the Dark Clown


Spellcaster / Effect  DARK / 3
When this card is sent to your Graveyard: You can banish this card from your Graveyard; Special Summon 1 "Peten the Dark Clown" from your hand or Deck.
500/1200 


CARD ID: 52624755
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Peten the Dark Clown
ZOBACZ WPIS NA WIKI

SETY TCG

Yu-Gi-Oh Prices Yu-Gi-Oh Cardmarket
TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgLowAvgTrend
Duelist Pack: Kaiba DPKB-EN019 Rare 0.42$ 1.01$0.02€0.47€0.23€
Exclusive Pack EP1-EN005 Common 0.73$ 2.91$0.02€0.14€0.05€
Structure Deck: Seto Kaiba SDKS-EN015 Common 0.42$ 1.07$0.02€0.64€0.05€

Trivia




OCG Rulings



You can activate "Peten the Dark Clown"s effect during the Damage Step, like when it is destroyed by battle.: Effect Monster > Peten the Dark Clown: Can the effect of "Peten the Dark Clown" be activated in the Damage Step?

Banishing this card from the Graveyard is a cost.

When "Light and Darkness Dragon" is sent to the Graveyard and its effect activates, you first destroy all cards, and then you Special Summon the monster. Because of this, you cannot activate the effects of "Peten the Dark Clown"/"Infernal Dragon"/etc, since you miss the timing.: For "Light and Darkness Dragon", do the destruction and the Special Summoning occur simultaneously?

For "Foolish Burial", after you send the card to the Graveyard, you shuffle the Deck. However, this is not treated as the effect of a card, so the last thing to resolve is sending the card from the Deck to the Graveyard. Because of this, you can activate the effect of "Jinzo - Returner" or "Peten the Dark Clown" if it is sent from the Deck to the Graveyard by "Foolish Burial".: Can you activate the effect of "Peten the Dark Clown" when it is sent to the Graveyard by "Foolish Burial"?

The "destroy that monster" and "inflict damage to your opponent" effects of "Exploder Dragonwing" are considered to resolve simultaneously. If "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed by this effect, then the effect of "Peten the Dark Clown

Previously Official Rulings


Missing the timing: "Peten the Dark Clown" is a "when you can" optional Trigger Effect. This means that "Peten" being sent to the Graveyard has to be the very last thing that happened in order to activate its effect.

If "Peten the Dark Clown" is Tributed for a Tribute Summon, the last thing that happened was that a monster was Summoned, so the effect of "Peten" does not activate.

If "Peten the Dark Clown" is Tributed for "Mystik Wok" or "Cannon Soldier", the last thing that happened was that those effects resolved, so the effect of "Peten" does not activate.

If "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed in a chain and not as Chain Link 1, his effect does not activate. (Example: "Pot of Greed" is activated and "Ring of Destruction" is chained, targeting "Peten".)

If "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed by "Cyber Jar", the last thing that happened was that monsters were Summoned to the field, so the effect of "Peten" does not activate.

If "Peten the Dark Clown" is discarded as a cost for "Tribe-Infecting Virus" or "Raigeki Break", the last thing that happened was that those effects resolved, so the effect of "Peten" does not activate.

If "Peten the Dark Clown" is discarded because of "Morphing Jar" or "Card Destruction", the last thing that happened was that both players drew cards. So the effect of "Peten" does not activate.

If "Peten the Dark Clown" is sent to the Graveyard as a result of battle, or by "Painful Choice", the last thing that happened WAS that "Peten" was sent to the Graveyard, so his effect will activate.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Assault on GHQ: If you destroy "Peten the Dark Clown", you miss the timing on its activation because it was not the last effect to resolve, so you cannot Special Summon another "Peten the Dark Clown".

Divine Wrath: You can chain "Divine Wrath" to the activation of "Peten the Dark Clown", and the effect of "Peten the Dark Clown" will not resolve (however, the "Peten the Dark Clown" that was removed from play remains out of play).

Revived King Ha Des: If "Revived King Ha Des" or another Zombie-Type monster you control destroys "Peten the Dark Clown" by battle, when their effects are activated they will be negated.

Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter: If "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed by "Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter", its effect cannot be activated.The latest print of "Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter" uses Problem-Solving Card Text, which makes clear that the two parts of its effect resolve simultaneously, so it cannot cause cards to miss the timing when activated as Chain Link 1. If "Peten the Dark Clown" is sent from the top of the Deck to the Graveyard by "Ryko, Lightsworn Hunter's" effect, its effect can be activated if there are no other effects remaining on the Chain.

Sky Scourge Norleras: Sending all cards on the field and in both players' hands to the Graveyard and drawing one card are resolved as part of the same Chain Link, and are considered to occur simultaneously (even though the card is drawn after sending cards to the Graveyard). So a card like "Peten the Dark Clown" would not miss the timing even though a card is drawn.

Snake Whistle: You can only activate this card if the Reptile-Type monster’s destruction is the last thing to occur in a chain. This is similar to the activation timing for both “Dark Magician of Chaos” and “Peten the Dark Clown.”

Judge List Rulings

Destruction Ring: The destruction of the target monster and the inflicted damage occur simultaneously. So if "Peten the Dark Clown" is destroyed its effect will not miss the timing.: "Destruction Ring" versus "Peten the Dark Clown"

Out of Date

Mentions in Other Rulings

Garoth, Lightsworn Warrior: If "Peten the Dark Clown" is sent to the Graveyard by "Garoth, Lightsworn Warrior's" effect, its effect can be activated, even if you draw cards with "Garoth, Lightsworn Warrior's" effect.The latest print of "Garoth, Lightsworn Warrior" has Problem-Solving Card Text that makes it clear that drawing occurs after sending the cards to the Graveyard. Therefore, the effect of "Peten the Dark Clown" will miss the timing if a card is drawn with the effect of "Garoth, Lightsworn Warrior".

Light and Darkness Dragon: If a monster with an optional Trigger Effect, like “Peten the Dark Clown”is destroyed by “Light and Darkness Dragon's” third effect, the timing to activate the effect of the destroyed monster is missed because immediately afterwards a monster is Special Summoned. The last thing to happen when resolving the effect is the Special Summon of a monster and not the destruction of “Peten the Dark Clown”The latest print of "Light and Darkness Dragon" has Problem-Solving Card Text that makes clear that the Special Summon and destroying the cards occur simultaneously. Therefore, the effect of "Peten the Dark Clown" will not miss the timing if destroyed by it.