Magical Scientist

Spellcaster / Effect  DARK / 1
Pay 1000 Life Points to Special Summon 1 level 6 or lower Fusion Monster from your Extra Deck in face-up Attack or Defense Position. That Fusion Monster cannot attack your opponent's Life Points directly, and is returned to your Extra Deck at the end of the turn.

CARD ID: 34206604
STATUS TCG: Forbidden
Powered by


TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgTrend
Dark Revelation Volume 1 DR1-EN128 Rare0.10€0.45€0.43€
Magician's Force MFC-073 Common0.02€0.33€0.14€

Card Trivia

 This monster appears in the artworks of Success Probability 0%, DNA Checkup, Iron Core Specimen Lab, Tour Bus To Forbidden Realms, Compulsory Escape Device, and Dr. Frankenderp.
This card is based around the stock character The Mad Scientist in fiction. Many believe this character archetype sprouted from Mary Shelley's character Dr. Victor Frankenstein, from her novel Frankenstein. A monster card based on Frankenstein's monster, Cyber-Stein, has a very similar effect, paying life Points to Special Summon Fusion Monsters.
In a similar vein, this card's Japanese name contains a pun: Madō translates into magical, but can also be interpreted as a transliteration of mad; thus, Magical/Mad Scientist.
As seen in Success Probability 0%, he seems to be friends with Kozaky.
The background of this card slightly resembles the processing chambers from the Guyver franchise.
In card artworks, Magical Scientist is shown to have purple hair. However, his hair is brown in the anime.
This card seems to have some relations to the Doktor in ARC-V in terms of design


Previously Official Rulings

You can use "
Magical Scientist"s effect multiple times in the same turn.

"Magical Scientist"s effect does not target.

If the Fusion Monster is flipped face-down with "Book of Moon", or removed from play with "Dimensionhole" or "Interdimensional Matter Transporter" or "Different Dimension Gate", the effect is reset and the Fusion Monster does not go back to the Extra Deck, and is not prohibited from attacking your opponent's Life Points directly.

If you Special Summon "Reaper on the Nightmare" with "Magical Scientist", it cannot attack your opponent's Life Points directly (but can attack a monster).

You cannot activate "Secret Pass to the Treasures" targeting a Fusion Monster Special Summoned with "Magical Scientist" because it cannot attack your opponent's Life Points directly that turn.

If "Skill Drain" is activated after a Fusion Monster is Special Summoned with "Magical Scientist", the effect of "Magical Scientist" (that makes the Fusion Monster unable to attack directly and have to go back to the Extra Deck) has been applied already, and is not negated, so the Special Summoned Fusion Monster still cannot attack directly and must go back to the Extra Deck.

If "Jowgen the Spiritualist" is on the field, you cannot activate the effect of "Magical Scientist" (so you cannot even pay the cost to try and activate "Last Turn", for example).

Mentions in Other Rulings

Deck Devastation Virus: If you use "Change of Heart" to take control of your opponent's "Magical Scientist" during the turns after "Deck Devastation Virus" has resolved, it will not be destroyed. If you then use its effect to Special Summon "Thousand-Eyes Restrict", it will also not be destroyed.

Fusion Gate: Fusion Monsters Special Summoned without "Polymerization" while "Fusion Gate" is on the field are still considered properly Summoned by a Fusion Summon. So they may be the target of "Monster Reborn", "Call of the Haunted", etc. (This does not apply to Fusion Monsters Special Summoned by the effects of other cards, such as "Magical Scientist" or "Summoner of Illusions".)

Interdimensional Matter Transporter: When a Fusion Monster is returned to the field with "Interdimensional Matter Transporter" the same turn it was Special Summoned with "Summoner of Illusions" or "Magical Scientist", the Fusion Monster is not destroyed or returned to the Extra Deck.

A-to-Z: These monsters cannot be Special Summoned from the Extra Deck except by the method described in their text. So they cannot be Special Summoned by the effect of "Magical Scientist" . They cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard even after they have been Special Summoned by the method described in their texts.