Axe of Despair


  Equip / Spell
(This card is always treated as an "Archfiend" card.)
The equipped monster gains 1000 ATK. When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard: You can Tribute 1 monster; place this card on the top of your Deck.
 


CARD ID: 40619825
Powered by yugioh.wikia.com
YuGiOh! TCG karta: Axe of Despair
ZOBACZ WPIS NA WIKI

SETY TCG

Yu-Gi-Oh Prices Yu-Gi-Oh Cardmarket
TCG SetSymbolRarityLowAvgLowAvgTrend
2-Player Starter Deck: Yuya & Declan YS15-END14 Common 2.45$ 3.49$0.02€0.29€0.20€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN067 Common 0.49$ 1.31$0.02€0.30€0.23€
Battle Pack: Epic Dawn BP01-EN067 Starfoil Rare 0.39$ 1.12$0.10€1.03€0.76€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN131 Common 0.88$ 1.16$0.05€0.46€0.18€
Battle Pack 2: War of the Giants BP02-EN131 Mosaic Rare 1.95$ 1.51$0.25€1.00€0.51€
Dark Beginning 1 DB1-EN002 Rare 0.79$ 1.69$0.15€0.80€0.37€
Dark Legends DLG1-EN052 Common 0.99$ 1.78$0.10€0.75€0.35€
Dark Legion Starter Deck YS15-ENL19 Common 0.30$ 1.22$0.02€0.29€0.20€
Duel Terminal 2 DT02-EN092 Duel Terminal Normal Parallel Rare 0.49$ 4.99$0.99€1.33€1.12€
Duelist League Demo 2010 DLDI-EN003 Common 1.18$ 2.53$0.11€0.79€0.53€
Magic Ruler MRL-002 Ultra Rare 2.99$ 9.33$1.70€5.69€3.83€
Retro Pack RP01-EN051 Rare 0.59$ 3.11$0.40€2.20€1.36€
Spell Ruler MRL-E002 Ultra Rare 11.06$ 11.06$1.70€5.69€3.83€
Spell Ruler SRL-002 Ultra Rare 5.59$ 7.34$1.89€4.53€4.08€
Spell Ruler SRL-EN002 Ultra Rare 4.99$ 7.20$1.89€4.53€4.08€
Starter Deck: Yugi Evolution SYE-035 Common 0.99$ 1.05$0.02€0.71€0.04€
Super Starter: Space-Time Showdown YS14-EN026 Common 0.35$ 1.33$0.02€0.25€0.15€

Trivia


TCG Rulings


Mentions in Other Rulings

Blackwing - Gale the Whirlwind: If a monster with 1000 ATK gains 1000 ATK from “Axe of Despair” and is then targeted by “Blackwing – Gale the Whirlwind”, its ATK is now 1000, and remains 1000 if “Axe of Despair

Judge Program Forum Rulings

{{RulingFlagged">TCGJudgeProgram =
This card is considered an "
Archfiend" card. "Archfiend" cards are:
Anything with "Archfiend" in the name.
A Deal with Dark Ruler
Axe of Despair
B. Skull Dragon
Beast of Talwar
Fiend Skull Dragon
Lesser Fiend
Shadow Tamer
Summoned Skull
Toon Summoned Skull



OCG Rulings



Tributing a monster on your side of the field is a cost of the effect that returns this card to the Deck.: Axe of Despair

The effects "destroy all face-up Spell and Traps" and "inflict 300 damage to each player for each card destroyed" of "Fairy Wind" are considered to resolve simultaneously. If "Axe of Despair" is destroyed by "Fairy Wind", then you can activate the effect of "Axe of Despair". (You do not miss the timing.): Are the "destroy all Spell/Trap Cards" and "inflict damage" effects of "Fairy Wind" considered to resolve simultaneously?

Mentions in Other Rulings

Infernity Doom Dragon: The damage inflicted by the effect of "Infernity Doom Dragon" is equal to half the ATK of the destroyed monster while it is on the field.: For the damage-inflicting effect of "Infernity Doom Dragon", the damage inflicted uses the ATK of the destroyed monster at what time?
Example: If "Infernity Doom Dragon" destroys a "Sangan" equipped with "Axe of Despair" (2000 ATK), then you inflict 1000 damage to your opponent.

Inverse Universe: When "Inverse Universe" resolves, its effect replaces the monster's ATK and DEF values.: If an ATK is increased by an Equip Spell Card, then how does "Inverse Universe" change the ATK?
Example: "Elemental Hero Neos Alius" (1900 ATK / 1300 DEF) is equipped with "Axe of Despair" (+1000 ATK). After "Inverse Universe" resolves, "Elemental Hero Neos Alius" will have 1300 ATK / 2900 DEF. These values do not change if "Axe of Despair" is destroyed. Afterwards, if "Elemental Hero Neos Alius" is then equipped with "Black Pendant" (+500 ATK), then "Elemental Hero Neos Alius" will have 1800 ATK.

Junk Warrior: When the effect of "Junk Warrior" increases its ATK, its ATK is increased by the current ATK (not original ATK) of all Level 2 or lower monsters on your field, determined when the effect of "Junk Warrior" resolves.: Does the increase to ATK by the effect of "Junk Warrior" also included changes caused by other cards' effects?
Example: If you have a Level 2 or lower monster is equipped with an Equip Spell like "Axe of Despair", then the ATK of "Junk Warrior" is increased based on that monster's changed ATK.

Majestic Red Dragon: For the ATK-increasing effect of "Majestic Red Dragon", the ATK increase also includes ATK modifications from Equip Cards like "Axe of Despair" that are equipped to the target

Previously Official Rulings


If all your monsters are sent to the
Graveyard simultaneously by the effect of "Cyber Jar", "Raigeki", etc. and "Axe of Despair" is equipped to one of them, you cannot Tribute one of those monsters to return "Axe of Despair" to the top of your Deck. You also cannot Tribute one of the monsters Special Summoned by the effect of "Cyber Jar" since the timing has passed.

Since "Axe of Despair" activates in the Graveyard, you can Tribute a monster to return it to the top of your Deck even if "Imperial Order" is on the field.

Mentions in Other Rulings

Chaos Necromancer: If you equip "Chaos Necromancer" with "Axe of Despair" and have 5 monsters in your Graveyard, the ATK of "Chaos Necromancer" is 2500 (1500 + 1000).

Cyber Blader: When applying the effect to double this card's ATK, double the total amount. So if you equip "Cyber Blader" with "Axe of Despair", her ATK will become 6200. (2100 + 1000) x 2 = 6200.

Elemental HERO Rampart Blaster: When using this card's effect to attack from Defense Position, you apply half of its current ATK. So if it equipped with "Axe of Despair", you would apply 1500 ATK for Damage Calculation.

Falling Down: The Archfiend you need for "Falling Down" doesn't have to be a monster. Cards like "Axe of Despair", or an Archfiend monster equipped to your "Relinquished", will prevent "Falling Down" from being destroyed.

Fusion Devourer: If this card battles a Fusion Monster that is equipped with "Axe of Despair", etc. that Fusion Monster's ATK will be 0 for Damage Calculation.

Gradius' Option: The ATK/DEF of "Gradius' Option" is the same as the current ATK/DEF of the selected "Gradius", not the original ATK/DEF. So if you equip "Axe of Despair" to "Gradius", the ATK of "Gradius' Option" will also increase by 1000 points.

Gradius' Option: Equipping "Axe of Despair" to "Gradius' Option" has no purpose. Activating "Reinforcements" targeting "Gradius' Option" serves no purpose. "Luminous Spark" on the field will not change the ATK/DEF of "Gradius' Option". It always has the same ATK/DEF of the selected "Gradius".

Gren Maju Da Eiza: If you equip "Axe of Despair" to "Gren Maju Da Eiza", calculate its ATK and DEF according to its effect, then add +1000 ATK on top of that.

Hero Heart: You only halve the ATK of the selected "Elemental Hero" when "Hero Heart" resolves. If you later equip the monster with "Axe of Despair" it will get the full +1000 ATK.

Pole Position: The opponent has "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" (3000 ATK) and "Pole Position" face-up on the field. I have "Gemini Elf" (1900 ATK), and an "Opticlops" (1800 ATK) equipped with "Axe of Despair"(+1000 ATK; 2800 total) face-up on the field, and a Set "Ring of Destruction". If I activate "Ring of Destruction" to destroy "Blue-Eyes White Dragon", then "Opticlops" will be the highest ATK monster on the field, and cause an infinite loop (it is the highest, it isn't, it is, it isn't, etc.). Therefore, I cannot target "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" with "Ring of Destruction".

Pole Position: EXAMPLE #2
The opponent has "Blue-Eyes White Dragon" (3000 ATK) and “Pole Position” face-up on the field. I have "Gemini Elf" (1900 ATK), and an "Opticlops" (1800 ATK) equipped with "Axe of Despair"(+1000 ATK; 2800 total) face-up on the field, and a Set "Ring of Destruction". If I activate "Ring of Destruction" to destroy "Blue-Eyes White Dragon", then “Opticlops” will be the highest ATK monster on the field, and cause an infinite loop (it is the highest, it isn’t, it is, it isn’t, etc.). Therefore, I cannot target “Blue-Eyes White Dragon” with “Ring of Destruction”.

Pole Position: EXAMPLE #3
The opponent has a face-down "Pole Position". I have "Opticlops" (1800 ATK) and "Gemini Elf" (1900 ATK) face-up on the field. I activate "Axe of Despair" (+1000 ATK) and try to equip my "Opticlops" (1800 ATK). The opponent cannot chain "Pole Position", since that would cause an infinite loop. “Pole Position” is an illegal activation. Put it back face-down.

Pole Position: EXAMPLE #5
have "Pole Position" and "Opticlops" (1800 ATK) face-up on the field. The opponent has a "Muka Muka" equipped with "Axe of Despair" face-up on the field with no cards in his hand. At the start of the opponent's turn, he draws a card, making "Muka Muka"s ATK 1900. An infinite loop is created by something that could not be avoided, so “Pole Position” is destroyed.

Reflect Bounder: When your opponent's "White Magical Hat" with "Axe of Despair" attacks your "Reflect Bounder", "Reflect Bounder" inflicts its effect damage, damage calculation is performed, and "White Magical Hat"s effect is activated.

Twin-Shield Defender: "Twin-Shield Defender" halves the current ATK of the targeted monster, including any gains and/or losses from effects.
Example 1: "Sangan" equipped with "Axe of Despair" has 2000 ATK. If its ATK is halved by "Twin-Shield Defender" it will have 1000 ATK.

Union Monster: A monster can only be equipped with 1 Union Monster at a time, but can still be equipped with other Equip Spell Cards such as "Axe of Despair", etc.

Wild Nature's Release: If "Ojama Yellow" is equipped with "Axe of Despair" (1000 ATK, 1000 DEF), if "Wild Nature's Release" is activated then it increases "Ojama Yellow" to 2000 ATK, 1000 DEF. If "Axe of Despair" is then destroyed, "Ojama Yellow" remains 2000 ATK, 1000 DEF.

Woodland Sprite: An Equip Spell Card sent to the Graveyard by this card's effect is not "destroyed". So the effects of"Axe of Despair"cannot or will not be activated.

Judge List Rulings

Limiter Removal: When a Machine-Type monster is equipped with equip cards like "Axe of Despair" or "Black Pendant", "Limiter Removal" will double the total ATK of the equipped Machine-Type monster. After doing so, the doubled ATK does not change if the Equipped Card is removed.: Limiter Removal Clarification

Megamorph: When an effect modifies, doubles, or halves the original ATK of a monster, you must apply this first. After calculating this value (the monster's new current ATK), any gains or losses (increases or decreases) to the monster's ATK are applied to the calculated value.
Example: If a "Cyber Dragon" equipped with "Axe of Despair" is equipped with "Megamorph", it would have its 2100 original ATK doubled to create a new current ATK of 4200. This value is further increased by 1000 due to "Axe of Despair", for a total of 5200.: Megamorph problems!

Submarineroid: "Submarineroid" does not assume new "original ATK" values. Its original ATK does not modify after the battle is concluded. It does not become a "new original ATK" or anything of that sort. It's effect means to explain that the battle damage inflicted will be equal to whatever "Submarineroid's" original ATK is. If equipped with "Axe of Despair", it will only inflict 800 damage, and "Submarineroid's" ATK remains at 1800.: submarineroid with stacking